IET Media Expands at IBC 2019

At IBC 2019, the IET Media Technical Network was launched, announcing new members of the Executive Committee, too. The network was formerly called The IET Multimedia Communications Technical Professional Network. Now in 2019, the network is renaming itself as the IET Media Technical Network, or IET Media for short.

Under the leadership of Ian Nock and David Short, IET Media is also strengthening its Executive Committee.  “The rename reflects that we have moved into an era where media in all its forms is business as usual. We plan to focus more on events that promote networking among the community. The IET Media presentations in the Future Trends Theatre at IBC is a big step in changing the visibility of IET members in the industry, said Ian Nock, Executive Chairman, IET Media. “The strengthened Executive will be working on this in the coming two years, creating more events that cover the broad challenges that today's media industry faces.”

New members from across industry that have been appointed include Allan McLennan (PADEM Media), Janet Greco (Broadcast Projects), Lynda Murchie (BT), and Steven Cheung (TVB MyTV Super Ltd). They join existing members Phil Haggar (Jukwa), Russell Trafford-Jones (Techex), Adriana Whiteley (Bonsight), Dominic Law (PCCW HKT), Fei Lee (MTR Corporation Limited), Keivan Navaie (Lancaster University), Laurence Murphy (University of Salford), Steve Plunkett (Supponor) and Martin Russ (Synthesizerwriter).

For many years, the IET Multimedia Communications Technical Professional Network and its Executive Committee has provided IET members and non-members with an online community and organised a range of industry events, lectures and presentations at industry events and conferences including the prestigious John Logie Baird Lecture, supported industry events such as RadioTechcon and the recent RadioTechcon Masterclass.

During IBC, IET Media hosted a series of presentations and panels in the Future Trends Theatre of the Future Zone. The panels included key industry figures to discuss 'The End of Broadcast' in all of its facets; Andre Prahl Chairman of the German TV Platform, Chris Ambrozic of TiVo, Colin Dixon of nScreenmedia, Mediatel’s Justin Lebbon, Peter Siebert of DVB, the EBU’s Willem Vermost and Yvonne Thomas of DTG amongst many others. Read more about it here.

Broadcast Projects will be collaborating closely with the IET Technical Network to host a series of lunch-time events around the use of AI in media, enterprise metadata management, and continuing developments in cloud technology. Broadcast Projects Industry Lunch events are small, curated events that will be held in London and Barcelona. The goal? To facilitate new connections and new thinking. Contact us to get notified about future events.

Janet Greco